Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

Damaged

by Becca Vincenza

Overview (from Goodreads):  There are some beings in this world, long thought to be extinct. Some seek to protect them, others want control, but some . . . some are hell bent on their destruction.

Audrey was taken from her father, hidden away from the world, and tortured for five years. She was rescued, but is she really safe, or is there someone else waiting to betray her? Can she trust those who saved her? Can she learn to accept who she really is?

Stone was on a routine mission to extract valuable information from a rival clan of paranormals. Instead, he and his team find something much more valuable: a scarred, damaged young woman who holds many secrets, and whose power is beyond anything they could ever have imagined.There is much more to Audrey than meets the eye and Stone is determined to protect her.

Audrey and Stone are about to find out it’s hard to know who to trust.

Full Disclosure:  I received a copy of this book from the author, via a Goodreads group, in exchange for an honest review.

My Thoughts:  I made a mistake with this book before I even started reading it.  I read a bunch of the reviews on its Goodreads page.  Normally I’ll only read a few reviews on a book and they’re usually by reviewers that I’ve read before (I’m a creature of habit).  There were so many glowing reviews that I started Damaged with higher than average expectations.  That was my mistake.

The characters were fine.  I thought they were a bit underdeveloped, but that seems to be par for the course when you’re dealing with a series nowadays.  I liked Audrey when Stone first finds her and she’s broken.  It took awhile for her to start to seem a bit normal, which was believable and I liked.  Then the author seemed to put everything into hyper speed.  Suddenly you’re supposed to believe in the instant chemistry between Stone and Audrey, while Audrey goes back and forth between the original broken girl and starting to heal.  I would’ve preferred the book be a little longer and stretch that out into something more realistic.

The plot itself was original.  I liked it, for the most part.  I will admit to some eye rolling and heavy sighs on my part.  I tend to get irritated when you’re reading a book and the main characters face a large problem, they’re separated, they conquer it and then they’re separated again.  It can get a bit tedious, instead of exciting (which is what most authors seem to be aiming for).

My biggest problem with Damaged was the actual writing.  There were grammatical and spelling errors too often.  There were even sentences with words missing.  I have a big problem with this because it yanked me out of the story and forced me to look closer in order to figure out what it was supposed to say.  This wouldn’t bother everyone; I’m aware of this.  There are people who wouldn’t even notice errors like that as long as they could still get the gist of it.  I’m not only of those people.

I really did like Damaged.  I thought it was a good book, but it could be better.  Would I recommend it though?  I’m not sure.  I think it would end up being on a case-by-case basis or if you are absolutely obsessed with new adult paranormal books.

3 out of 5 Bookmarks = I liked it; I was just really underwhelmed by it.

Interested in buying this book?  Amazon or Barnes & Noble

damaged

Leave a Reply

