Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

The Graveyard Book

by Neil Gaiman

Overview (from Goodreads):  After the grisly murder of his entire family, a toddler wanders into a graveyard where the ghosts and other supernatural residents agree to raise him as one of their own.

Nobody Owens, known to his friends as Bod, is a normal boy. He would be completely normal if he didn’t live in a sprawling graveyard, being raised and educated by ghosts, with a solitary guardian who belongs to neither the world of the living nor of the dead. There are dangers and adventures in the graveyard for a boy. But if Bod leaves the graveyard, then he will come under attack from the man Jack—who has already killed Bod’s family . . .

My Thoughts:  I’ve always wanted to read a Neil Gaiman book.  I thought this would be an appropriate October/Halloween read.  Overall, The Graveyard Book might’ve been a weird one to start with or maybe all of his books are a bit weird.  We’ll see. . . with time.

There were illustrations throughout the book that were actually pretty cool.  This may seem like a random thing to notice, but there were illustrations in each chapter.  I think it added more to the story and it definitely made it one of the more unique books that I’ve read.

The story itself was a bit strange, but also very interesting.  It’s not every day that you read about a boy growing up in a graveyard while being raised by ghosts and what I assume were a vampire and werewolf (but those last 2 were never confirmed with any kind of absolution).  The author introduces readers to all sorts in The Graveyard Book.  In addition to Nobody (terrible name, by the way) readers are introduced to ghosts from all time periods and a witch, not to mention some interesting and horrible humans.

The characters themselves were pretty cool.  I love learning about history through the eyes of historical figures that were actually there (obviously I mean this through books, tv and movies).  Our main character, Bod, was not what I expected from the beginning.  His reaction to different situations was different than one might expect if they were raised normally.  I loved the supernatural elements woven throughout The Graveyard Book.  It was truly fantastic.

The Graveyard Book was a decent choice for my first Neil Gaiman book, if not a strange choice.  I would recommend The Graveyard Book and I would give it an even higher recommendation if you’re planning to share it with your kids.  I’m looking forward to my next Gaiman experience.

3.5 out of 5 Bookmarks = I enjoyed it, but it was more juvenile than I expected.

Interested in buying this book?  Amazon or Barnes & Noble

the_graveyard_book

2 Comments

  1. Nice review, I just posted one myself! http://leviathanbound.wordpress.com/2014/10/31/the-graveyard-book/

    You will see in my review the logical recommendation for your next Gaiman book. It’s a great one. 🙂

    • I guess I’ll be picking up a copy of The Ocean at the End of the Lane. 😀 Thank you for the recommendation and for stopping by! Have a Happy Halloween.

Leave a Reply

