Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Books I Want to Re-Read

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a fun weekly link-up in the community where The Broke and the Bookish provides a prompt and other lovers of list making join in on it with their own top ten list. You can have less than 10 or more if you need to at times and put a spin on the topic if you need to! All they ask is that you link back to them if you’re participating.  Below links will take you the books’ Goodreads page.

I absolutely love re-reading books, so this week was both fun and a challenge for me.  I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve re-read the Harry Potter books, but re-reading books that I love is generally how I get out of a reading slump.  It’s pretty effective.  When you think about it, it makes sense.  Reading something you loved and brought you joy the first time around will still bring you joy when you read it again and reminds you why you love to read.  Slump over.  So check out the. . .

Top 10 Books I Want to Re-Read

1.  Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling – Since I already mentioned it, I figured I would get it out of the way.  I could re-read HP for the rest of my life and never get tired of it.  I lost count of how many times I’ve already managed to re-read it.

harry-potter-series

2.  Deception Point and Digital Fortress by Dan Brown – It’s been so long since I’ve read these that I’m dying to read them again and remember why I thought they were so awesome the first time around.

3.  The Blooming Goddess trilogy by Tellulah Darling – I just really loved this series and want to read it again.  I’d like to know if I’m still as impressed.  I think I will be, but I also think it’s worth re-reading to make sure I didn’t miss anything (sometimes if I get excited while reading I unintentionally skip whole paragraphs without realizing it).

blooming-goddess-trilogy

4.  Firestarter by Stephen King – Now that I’ve hit my King stride and found how much I like him, I’d like to re-read Firestarter and give it a second chance.  I’d like to know for sure if I was just unimpressed with the book or if I was forcing a Stephen King mental block at the time.

firestarter

5.  Shock Me by Ashley C. Harris – This book was incredible and I’d like to re-read it before I dive into the second book, Sparks.

shock_me

6.  Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte – This is my absolute favorite classic.  I like to watch the BBC mini-series with Timothy Dalton and then re-read it.  It’s really a great experience.

jane_erye

7.  Stupid and Contagious by Caprice Crane – It’s been so long since I’ve read this that I don’t actually remember what the heck happened.  I should probably cure that by re-reading it and writing a review.

stupid_and_contagious

8.  First Impressions by Charlie Lovett – This is a special case for me.  This book made me want to read Jane Austen.  So my plan:  Read Pride & Prejudice.  Depending on how that goes, read some other Jane Austen (I’m thinking Northanger Abbey or Sense & Sensibility).  Then re-read First Impressions and truly appreciate Sophie’s love of Jane Austen.

first_impressions

9.  The Passage by Justin Cronin – I’m planning to eventually read the second book in this series (The Twelve) and I like to read things sequentially, so I’ll be re-reading The Passage before then.

the-passage

10.  The Giver by Lois Lowry – I read this while I was in high school and don’t 100% remember everything that happened.  I’d like to re-read it in my bid to do a better job of reading books on the banned books list.  Plus it’s apparently the first in a series.

the-giver

What books do you want to enjoy a second or third time?

8 Comments

  1. I like re-reading the Harry Potter books over again too. I think they are perfect for bedtime reading!

  2. I love Harry Potter and Jane Eyre. Definitely worth rereading. Check out my Top Tuesday here

  3. Kimberly @ On the Wings of Books

    You are definitely correct – reading Harry Potter again and again will never get old!

  4. Deception Point is my favorite Dan Brown book (well, may be tied with Angels and Demons). I have read his first four multiple multiple times. He is a go-to for a good reread!
    Thanks for stoppin’ by! Have a great week!

    • We’re on the same page when it comes to Dan Brown! Hope you have a great week too!

  5. I have only read the Dan Brown books that are part of the series the Da Vinci code is in, not sure of the series name, but now I want to give these other ones a try. Also the Blooming Goddess trilogy looks fun, I remember reading your reviews and wanting to get the books myself but never did! I’ll have to change that 🙂

    • It’s the Robert Langdon series. I’ve read 2 out of 4 of those books, but these two stand-alones were great. Sometimes I get really frustrated with constantly starting a new series, so sometimes it’s nice to find a decent stand-alone especially by a popular author. Bonus, Deception Point has some marine science in it. 😀

  6. I have re-read the Harry Potter books and wish I had time to do it again. I would like to re-read The Giver as well. Great list!
    Check out my Top 10

Leave a Reply

