Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

Treat Yo Self Thursday – November 6, 2014

treat-yo-self-thursday1

Over at No Money 4 Books, they created this bookish meme called Treat Yo Self Thursday.  We all know that it’s just not possible to buy ourselves every book or bookish item that we’d like, but we should treat ourselves once in awhile!  Inspired by Parks and Recreation’s Treat Yo Self Day, this is a chance to share what bookish item you treated yourself to this week.  It can be a book you had to get your hands on, a great deal you just couldn’t pass up, or even reading paraphernalia such as a shiny new e-reader, cool bookmarks, cute reading glasses… nothing’s too small to include on Treat Yo Self Thursday!

Here at Reviews in a Pinch, we don’t participate every week, but when we do we go overboard.  You’ve already guessed that we participated this week, so let’s get to the book haul.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

6 Comments

  1. Whew, I’ve got lots of thoughts, here goes…
    I tried reading Catch-22 for 4-5 months before I finally gave up on it, hopefully you like it more than I did.
    Eat, Pray, Love is a great book, but I always also at a point in my life that I NEEDED IT when I read it, so I could be biased.
    Extremely Loud and Incredible Close has been on my bookshelf for ages, I just haven’t been ready for it (I saw the movie first… definitely read the book before, if you haven’t seen the movie yet).
    I love that you’re giving Firestarter another chance, I’ll be curious to see if you change your mind on it.
    The movie One Flew Over the Cuckoo Nest has haunted me since watching it (AHS: Asylum did the same thing), so I’m not sure I could ever read it! Room is a powerful read, lots of emotions there.
    YAY Shadow of Night, whoop whoop, I just finished rereading it!! 🙂
    Everyone seems to be talking about The Madman’s Daughter all of a sudden… am I missing something?
    I’m actually on the last cd of The Ocean at the End of the Lane, narrated by Gaiman himself. His voice is enchanting but the story is just okay for me.
    I need to get on top of reading Witch & Wizard: The Gift myself!

    Oh, and are most of these ebooks? Or did you score some awesome deal? You gotta give us the details!! 🙂

    • First and foremost, this comment is incredibly amazing! Second, NONE of these are ebooks (quite a few are actually hardcover). I know you’re in shock right now. A few of them came from a local used bookstore that I finally managed to visit, but the majority came from Thriftbooks. I’ll send you an invite, so you can get the additional 15% off (their books are so freaking cheap)!

      I don’t know much about The Madman’s Daughter, except that a lot of people had it on their TTT Halloween lists and it sounds pretty good. I figured there was no harm in giving it a try.
      Haven’t seen the movies for Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close or One Flew Over the Cuckoo Nest, so I’ll definitely be reading the books first. 😀
      Of course I have to give Firestarter another chance, now that you’ve converted me into a SK fan.
      I now have a hardcover of The Ocean at the End of the Lane, but I also picked up the audiobook from the library this week. Audiobooks during my work commute just help me “read” more. Same goes for Shadow of Night, but I also grabbed the audiobook for A Discovery of Witches because if I remember correctly you did a review on it and said the audiobook was pretty great.

      But check your email for the Thriftbooks invite, so you can get that extra percentage off on your first order. By the way, the shipping is free in the US. Enjoy! 😀

      • Oh my gosh, that is awesome!! The fiance is probably going to want to kill you for sending me the Thriftbooks invite, hahahaha 🙂 FREE SHIPPING, YESSSSSS!

        I like audiobooks for the exact same reason, though I haven’t done much listening to anything else but SOIAF since the end of August or so. Still, I’m getting through those massive books slowly but surely!
        The audiobooks for Discovery of Witches and Shadow of Night really ARE good. I finished rereading Shadow of Night last week, and actually think I liked the audio more. I’m intending to look into more books by that narrator.

      • Just tell him that I helped you find a cheaper way to buy the books that you’d be buying anyway. Then he’ll love me instead of wanting to kill me (which would be safer for me). 😀

  2. Wow – I love when you do Treat Yo Self Thursday because you do it so dramatically! 🙂

    So many good ones on here – I just finished reading The Ocean at the End of the Lane. I liked it but it was very different from what I was expecting. P&P and Zombies is really funny and silly, but definitely try and get through P&P first or you’ll miss some of the funny references and how they change the story around. It made me laugh a lot – and there are pictures! YES! I’m interested to see what you think of the Mira Grant book – I really disliked Parasite by her, but it was an interesting idea so I would be willing to give something else by her a chance.

    Have fun reading these!! 🙂

    • Hahahahaha. That made me laugh, but I suppose it’s very true.

      I haven’t read Parasite, but Feed sounds pretty awesome. I think it was actually your review that made me think I could put Parasite off for awhile.

      I will definitely read P&P before I start in on P&P and Zombies. I think I actually got the prequel, which I didn’t realize existed. I’ll figure it out before I review though. 🙂 And I’m serious when I say thank for hosting Treat Yo Self Thursdays. It is the absolute perfect excuse for me to do some binge buying.

Leave a Reply

