Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

Drinking Buddies (Rated R)

Starring:  Olivia Wilde, Jake Johnson, Anna Kendrick, and Ron Livingston

Directed by:  Joe Swanberg

Synopsis:  Luke and Kate are co-workers at a Chicago brewery, where they spend their days drinking and flirting. They’re perfect for each other, except that they’re both in relationships. Luke is in the midst of marriage talks with his girlfriend of six years, Kate is playing it cool with her music producer boyfriend Chris. But you know what makes the line between “friends” and “more than friends” really blurry? Beer.

My Thoughts:  I’m not a drinker, at all.  I can still appreciate the fact that other people do and it defines the way they hang out with friends.  Plus it’s always interesting to see how alcohol changes a social situation and the relationships involved, usually not in a good way.  I’ll admit that a major draw for me were the actors involved.  I was surprised that this movie isn’t a bigger deal, considering who is in it.

The characters were wonderfully flawed and so realistic.  Even their interwoven relationships were true to life.  They didn’t even wear picturesque “Hollywood” wardrobe.  They were dressed like normal people, which was so refreshing.  I love the Hollywood blockbusters just as much as everyone else, but sometimes it’s nice to see a movie that doesn’t have special effects or ridiculous wardrobes.  Drinking Buddies is about its characters, period.

The chemistry between the actors was something worth watching, especially Jake Johnson and Anna Kendrick.  I’m not always a fan of character driven stories, whether they’re books or movies, but Drinking Buddies could convert me on that point.  A story of the imperfect human element and the effects on everyone around is a hard story to ignore.

If you’re already a fan of independent films, you’ll probably like Drinking Buddies.  If you love beer, you make also want to give it a try.  And if you’re a fan of any of the actors involved you may want to watch Drinking Buddies because they all gave a great performance.  I would recommend Drinking Buddies.

3.5 out of 5 Popcorn Buckets = This was good enough that I started to wonder how it’s flown under the radar.

Interested in buying this movie?  DVD or Instant Video

drinking_buddies

3 Comments

  1. Meh.. I wasn’t a huge fan of the movie. It was just kind of blah for me. I don’t know why exactly. Just didn’t ring my bell.

    • I should add though: Amazing cast.

      • Yeah, I think that happens with a lot of “independent” films. It’s not usually a love or hate extreme. You just almost don’t care one way or the other. I agree about the cast. 🙂

Leave a Reply

