Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

Bossypants

by Tina Fey

Overview (from Goodreads):  Before Liz Lemon, before “Weekend Update,” before “Sarah Palin,” Tina Fey was just a young girl with a dream: a recurring stress dream that she was being chased through a local airport by her middle-school gym teacher. She also had a dream that one day she would be a comedian on TV.

She has seen both these dreams come true.

At last, Tina Fey’s story can be told. From her youthful days as a vicious nerd to her tour of duty on Saturday Night Live; from her passionately halfhearted pursuit of physical beauty to her life as a mother eating things off the floor; from her one-sided college romance to her nearly fatal honeymoon—from the beginning of this paragraph to this final sentence.

Tina Fey reveals all, and proves what we’ve all suspected: you’re no one until someone calls you bossy.

(Includes Special, Never-Before-Solicited Opinions on Breastfeeding, Princesses, Photoshop, the Electoral Process, and Italian Rum Cake!)

My Thoughts:  Tina Fey was part of my generation’s SNL (or maybe I was watching SNL a little early, was middle/high school to early?).  The duo of Tina Fey and Amy Poehler was just showing the world how awesome they were.  Then she moved on and had success standing on her own two feet.  I’m still a huge fan of Tina and Amy whether it’s an individual project or they working together again.  When Tina’s book came out, Bossypants, I bought it immediately and then I got the audiobook when it came out too.

I think we all expected Bossypants to be funny.  It was written by Tina Fey herself.  What else would we expect?  This is a book that is funny if you read it, but listening to the audiobook is where you really get the full comedic effect.  Get ready for some good life stories and enjoy.

I do have to admit that I did not enjoy how much she talked about 30 Rock.  I realize this show is a huge part of her career, but the few episodes I managed to watch didn’t leave me wanting more.  So I wasn’t interested in the chapters discussing that, but a lot of that also came down to me not having any idea what the heck she was talking about (hard to know those things when you don’t/didn’t watch the show).

I personally enjoyed Bossypants, but would I recommend it?  If you’re already a Fey fan, I would definitely recommend Bossypants.  If you’re a Fey hater, I’d probably tell you to skip it.  And if you’re somewhere in between, but you like comedian autobiographies you should probably check out Bossypants.

3.5 out of 5 Bookmarks = It was so funny and the audiobook is 100x better for its comedic timing.

Interested in buying this book?  Amazon or Barnes & Noble

bossypants

1 Comment

  1. I agree – I liked this one and am a Tina Fey fan, but the book was not quite what I expected comedy-wise.

Leave a Reply

