Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

The Hunger Games: Catching Fire (Rated PG-13)

Starring:  Jennifer Lawrence, Josh Hutcherson, Woody Harrelson, Liam Hemsworth, Donald Sutherland, Elizabeth Banks, Phillip Seymour Hoffman

Directed by:  Francis Lawrence

Synopsis:  Six months after winning the 74th Hunger Games, Katniss Everdeen and her partner Peeta Mellark, must go on what is known as the Victor’s Tour, wherein they visit all the districts, but before leaving, Katniss is visited by President Snow who fears that Katniss defied him a year ago during the games when she chose to die with Peeta. With both Katniss and Peeta declared the winners, it is fueling a possible uprising. He tells Katniss that while on tour she better try to make sure that she puts out the flames or else everyone she cares about will be in danger.

My Thoughts:  With Mockingjay Part 1 on the immediate horizon, I figured I needed to get my butt in gear and get my review out for Catching Fire.  So today’s Movie Monday is all about Catching Fire!

Just to start things off, I try really hard not to compare the movies to the books.  I learned that lesson the hard way with Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (I hated the movie because it was so different from the book).  Therefore, my book to movie comparisons will be minimal (non-existent just seems a little far-fetched).  They did make changes, but it wasn’t anything earth shattering and I don’t think it impacted the movie in a negative way.

Some of the casting for characters was brilliant.  While reading the books, I didn’t like Johanna (Jena Malone) at all and I thought Finnick (Sam Claflin) was just okay.  In the movie, I absolutely loved them both.  In fact, I want Johanna and her sarcasm to be my new best friend.  The old stand-byes did a good job in Catching Fire too.  Haymitch (Woody Harrelson) was great again.  I like him better in the movies (he’s funnier).

I really don’t get the relationship between Katniss (Jennifer Lawrence) and Peeta (Josh Hutcherson), apparently I’m not on Team Peeta.  He just seems kind of useless to me.  This parody video actually sums it up perfectly, Peeta’s Song.  I’m not really on Team Gale (Liam Hemsworth) either, for the record.  I didn’t really understand the need for a “love story” while you’re in the middle of a huge rebellion to begin with.  I think there’s too much emphasis on that part of the story.

There was plenty of action in Catching Fire and certain parts definitely had my heart racing (the mist).  They did a great job balancing the action sequences and the “slower” parts.  By slower I mean it wasn’t heart-pumping (OMG is Katniss going to die?!) action.

I’m looking forward to Mockingjay Part 1, but I won’t be seeing it for at least a week after it comes out (I hate how crowded it gets with a popular new movie – I need my personal space).  I would definitely recommend seeing Catching Fire, especially if you’ve already seen The Hunger Games.  If you’re a fan of the books, but haven’t seen the movies yet you may want to watch them (they’re a pretty great adaptation from book to movie).

4 out of 5 Popcorn Buckets = It was great, but parts felt a little too rushed.

Interested in buying this movie?  DVD or Instant Video

catching_fire

Leave a Reply

