Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

Yes Please

by Amy Poehler

Overview (from Goodreads):  In Amy Poehler’s highly anticipated first book, Yes Please, she offers up a big juicy stew of personal stories, funny bits on sex and love and friendship and parenthood and real life advice (some useful, some not so much), like when to be funny and when to be serious. Powered by Amy’s charming and hilarious, biting yet wise voice, Yes Please is a book is full of words to live by.

My Thoughts:  Oh Amy Poehler.  I will admit that I’m a fan of Amy Poehler.  Before I read Yes Please, I liked her.  I’d seen some of her skits on SNL and I watch Parks & Recreation.  I thought she was funny, but I never really made the effort to seek her work out (some of it is a little over the top, like all comedians).  I happened to pick up Yes Please because I’ve had some success reading books by female comedians.  I’ve pretty much liked them all, so I figured I would give it a shot.

Amy Poehler is now one of my favorite people on the planet.  Yes Please is funny, as would be expected, but it also has serious stories and lessons that Poehler has learned over the years.  I’ll admit that I teared up during at least 2 anecdotes and I felt anger on Amy Poehler’s behalf.  It was an emotional roller coaster at times and I definitely was not expecting that from Yes Please.  It was so much more.

I didn’t know much about Amy Poehler’s personal life and as it turns out I didn’t know much about her professional life either.  Yes Please changed that for me.  It never felt like she was over-sharing (it was pretty much like she shared the perfect amount).  She didn’t harp on her divorce, SNL, or Parks & Recreation.  She talked about them, but everything had its time to shine in Yes Please.

I listened to the audiobook and I’m pretty sure this is the only way to truly appreciate and fall in love with Yes Please and Amy Poehler.  You just don’t get the comedic timing if you’re reading the book.  Plus, listening to the audiobook allows you to listen to the guest stars.  That’s right, guest stars on an audiobook.  Seth Meyers came in and told a story for Yes Please (it was sweet and funny).  Michael Schur (creator of Parks & Recreation) made an appearance.  Amy’s banter with all of her guest stars had me laughing hysterically (which was embarrassing because I was riding the metro to and from work).  Tina Fey did not, but we finally got the full story on how they met and their awesome friendship.  You also get to listen to Patrick Stewart, Amy’s parents and more (I’m saying and more because I can’t remember who else appeared and I’m too lazy to look it up).

By the end of Yes Please I’d learned a lot about Amy Poehler and I can honestly say that I’m now a fan.  If she ever writes another book, I’ll be grabbing that up like it’s the last turkey leg on Thanksgiving (the legs are the best part).  I would highly recommend Yes Please, but do yourself a giant favor and listen to the audiobook.  You just won’t get the same level of enjoyment if you read it instead.  I’m personally planning to go out and buy the actual book since I’ve already got the audiobook (I like to have both – I’m greedy like that).

5 out of 5 Bookmarks = Without question my favorite biography/memoir, bar none.

Interested in buying this book?  Amazon or Barnes & Noble

yes-please

2 Comments

  1. Were you the one that also recommended Bossypants on audio? Seems like that’s a good way to enjoy comedians’ work!

    • Yes I was. 🙂 It’s the best way to get the comedic timing of whatever they’re saying.

Leave a Reply

