Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

Crossing the Ice

by Jennifer Comeaux

Overview (from Goodreads):  Falling hard never felt so good.

Pair skaters Courtney and Mark have one shot left at their Olympic dream. They vow not to let anything get in their way, especially not Josh and Stephanie, the wealthy and talented brother and sister team.

The heart doesn’t always listen to reason, though…

The more time Courtney spends with sweet, shy Josh, the harder she falls for him. But they are on opposite sides of the competition, and their futures are headed in opposite directions. Will their friendship blossom into more or are their paths too different to cross?

Full Disclosure:  I received a copy of this book from the author, via Goodreads, in exchange for an honest review.

My Thoughts:  Confession time.  I am a huge fan of the movie The Cutting Edge.  So much so that I have to stop and watch it when it comes on TV, even though I own the DVD.  Bonus, The Cutting Edge got a shout out in Crossing the Ice.  I was so deliriously happy about that.  So to answer the question that some of you are thinking, yes I read this because it was a similar(ish) subject to a movie that I love to watch.

The characters were awesome.  The chemistry between Josh and Courtney was off the charts (and not in a dirty way – this book was pretty clean).  I absolutely loved Josh.  I’m pretty sure if he existed in real life, I would have a massive crush on him.  Courtney was pretty great too.  I like that she was a strong, female character and didn’t constantly act like a victim of circumstance.  Added bonus (that you don’t normally find in contemporary books) the build-up of Josh and Courtney’s relationship was slow and never felt rushed.

The plot was right down my alley.  It was awesome reading about pairs figure skating.  That’s not exactly the most popular thing to write/read about, but most people love watching it when the Winter Olympics come around.  Plus the Romeo & Juliet feel to it added an extra layer to the story.

Crossing the Ice was a pretty quick read.  I really liked it.  I would give it a PG-13 type warning (if it were a movie) for any possible sexual scenarios, just because I want to be safe on that.  I would recommend Crossing the Ice as a solid contemporary novel, if that’s what you’re looking to read.  The only people I would not recommend Crossing the Ice to are, kids under the age of 13 and anyone that is so devoutly religious that any type of kissing beyond a peck offends them.  Everyone else should considered giving Crossing the Ice their contemporary attention.

4 out of 5 Bookmarks = It made me squeal like a teenage girl and I definitely want to read the second book when it comes out.

Interested in buying this book?  Amazon or Barnes & Noble

crossing_the_ice

3 Comments

  1. Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!! I’m a huge fan of The Cutting Edge too 🙂 That movie inspired my first ideas for a skating book many years ago!

    • No problem. I’m already a little antsy waiting for Losing the Ice to come out next year. I suppose I’ll have to check out the Edge series in the meantime. 😀

      • It’s a great series to read in winter 😉

Leave a Reply

