Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

Delivery Man (Rated PG-13)

Starring:  Vince Vaughn, Chris Pratt, Cobie Smulders

Directed by:  Ken Scott

Synopsis:  An affable underachiever (Vince Vaughn) finds out he’s fathered 533 children through anonymous donations to a fertility clinic 20 years ago.  Now he must decide whether or not to come forward when 142 of them file a lawsuit to reveal his identity.

My Thoughts:  Have you ever gone to see a movie with certain expectations that were dashed to a disappointing degree?  Or maybe you went to see a movie with extremely low expectations and were pleasantly surprised?  I try to see most movies with little to no expectations (sometimes it just can’t be helped though).  I went into Delivery Man with almost no expectations, except I expected to laugh… a lot.

Where to start with this?  I think I’m still in shock.  I was dying to see Delivery Man when it was in theaters.  I’m so glad I didn’t end up having time for that.  It would have been a complete waste of my money.  Vince Vaughn is known for being funny.  I’m not saying he can’t play a dramatic role, but I would like some warning next time.  Who out there would think, “Oh Vince Vaughn is in a movie where he finds out he’s fathered 533 children.  There’s no way that’s a comedy.  Drama!”

The characters were fine.  Vince Vaughn was a likable, perpetual screw-up (I like that they labelled him an affable underachiever) that seemed to try his best and it just wasn’t good enough.  Chris Pratt’s character was the only one that made me laugh at all and it was only once or twice.  I did like the diversity in his “children”.  One of them (Viggo) was a real weirdo though.  He creeped me out enough that I started to worry it was going to turn into some sort of horror movie.

Ultimately, Delivery Man was a unique idea for a movie.  It could’ve been much funnier than it was, especially with the talent available.  I have to admit that I was unbelievably disappointed by Delivery Man.   I would not recommend Delivery Man.

2.5 out of 5 Popcorn Buckets =  It just wasn’t funny.

Interested in buying this movie?  DVD or Instant Video

delivery_man

Leave a Reply

