Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Books on My Winter TBR List

toptentuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is a fun weekly link-up in the community where The Broke and the Bookish provides a prompt and other lovers of list making join in on it with their own top ten list. You can have less than 10 or more if you need to at times and put a spin on the topic if you need to! All they ask is that you link back to them if you’re participating.

This is one of my favorite lists to make with every seasonal change.  I’ve been using it almost as a priority list for myself.  A rather public to-read asap list.  Ultimately I’d love to have everything on this list read and reviewed by the end of December, but I realize I’m not a machine and winter extends beyond the month of December.  So I’m giving myself until the end of January to get these 10 books read and reviewed (I don’t care if the groundhog sees his shadow or not).  Anyone reading this is a witness to my self-made read/review challenge.

Top 10 Books on My Winter TBR List

challenge1_nov25

 1.  Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige – I finished both of the prequels, No Place Like Oz (click for review) and The Witch Must Burn (review will be up on 12/5), and I am so pumped for this.  It’s been sitting on my shelf for a while now and I’ve been very good about controlling myself and not having it jump up my TBR list.  No more waiting!

2.  Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel – I sort of started this, but only getting 3 chapters in doesn’t count.  So I’m putting it on this list as a reminder to myself that I want to read it and I’ve technically already begun this particular adventure.

3.  Control by Lydia Kang – I’ve been controlling myself and not reading this the moment it arrived in the mail.  This is the book that I read the excerpt about 8 times before the book was published.  So I know the excerpt was awesome, why would the rest of the book be any different?

challenge2_nov25

4.  We Are the Goldens by Dana Reinhardt – I received this book from the publisher on Netgalley and really need to get to reading it.  I’ve been kind of lazy about it since I realized that it might be a bit of a downer (based on the description).

5.  The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson – Tons of people are talking about this book and it’s sequel coming out in 2015.  I received the book on Netgalley and just haven’t read it yet.  I have a few books like that (more than I’m actually willing to admit to having).  I’m excited to read The Kiss of Deception, but I need to calm down and lower my expectations a little (I tend to get over-excited and build a book up in my mind and then it can’t live up to those expectations).

6.  This Shattered World by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner – I pre-ordered it and am pretty much planning to dive right in as soon as I get my hands on it.

challenge3_nov25

7.  Alienated by Melissa Landers – I actually heard about this book from another book bloggers TTT list.  I don’t remember whose list it was on or what the topic was that week.  I just know that I clicked on it, liked the description and a day later stumbled across it at the library.  Obviously I snatched it up and probably looked like a deranged book hoarder, but I got the book and that’s really all that matters.

8.  Brew and Boil by David Estes – I know that’s technically two books, but they’re from the same series and I’m counting it on the same line.

challenge4_nov25

9.  The Lazarus Experiment by Mark DeGasperi – I received a copy of this book from the author and I’d just like to get it read and reviewed.  This is seriously turning into my to do/to read list.  Confession:  I initially wanted to read this because of the Doctor Who episode by the same name (I geeked out).

10.  Zombies vs. Unicorns by Holly Black and Justine Larbalestier – I’m FINALLY going to read this.  Ali @ No Money 4 Books mentioned this book and figured I’d like it.  I imagine I will, but I’m going to actually sit down and read it this winter.  I’m hoping we have quite a few snow days this year!

As I finished this list, I felt a ball of anxiety form in my stomach.  One day I may give myself an ulcer from unnecessary stress.  Oh well, I work better under pressure and 10 (or 11) books in 2 months should be a cake walk.  What are you planning to read this winter?

16 Comments

  1. curiousdaisies

    Good luck on your challenge this winter! Happy reading 😀

    http://ireadboooks.wordpress.com/2014/11/25/top-ten-books-on-my-winter-tbr/

  2. I’m about three chapters into Station Eleven too. Looking forward to getting further into it!

    • Well hopefully we both move it along and enjoy it! Thank you for stopping by!

  3. Great list. One of my students loved Zombies vs. Unicorns so much that she stole it. Why else do students steal books? Dorothy Must Die is great, too. I’ve listened to the audio of Station Eleven, but I think I fell asleep in too many places for it to have made sense to me. I reserve judgement until after a reread. Happy reading!

    • I’ve only stolen a book once and it was an accident, but it wasn’t from a teacher. I started listening to the audio for Station Eleven too and I nodded off. I figured it was because it was before 6am though. Thank you for stopping by!

  4. Kimberly @ On the Wings of Books

    I’m also looking forward to Kiss of Deception and This Shattered World. I hope you get to all your books!

    • Thank you! Hopefully we both enjoy Kiss of Deception and This Shattered World. Thank you for stopping by!

  5. This looks like a nice list. I’ve heard a little about “The Kiss of Deception” but I’m still unsure whether to give it a go or not. I remember thinking it sounded a bit too romance-y for me when I saw it first on NetGalley, but I might have been wrong.
    And I know what you mean about having a few NetGalley books to read. I have a few more than I wish I had too. Guess it comes with the “job” 😉
    Good luck with the TBR pile!

    • Thanks. Good luck to you too! I actually have more netgalley books that I want to admit to having right now. And I love that you referred to it as a “job”. Definitely the best “job” in the world. 🙂 Thank you for stopping by!

  6. Winter lasts a whole lot longer than December/January! Or at least in PA it does… lol

    • Haha. Sometimes it does in DC, but I had to give myself a cut-off or I’ll never read them all. 😀

  7. I want to read Dorothy Must Die and The Kiss of Deception too! I’ve heard great things about the latter. The cover for Station Eleven is absolutely beautiful, I’ll go and look that one up now.

    Happy reading!

    • Thanks! You too. Hopefully we’ll both enjoy Dorothy Must Die and The Kiss of Deception. Thank you for stopping by!

  8. I’ve been meaning to read Dorothy Must Die. It sounds really interesting. I also really want to read Kiss of Deception, but I think I might wait until the series is complete to pick it up. Great list! I hope you love them all!

    • I always tell myself that I’ll wait until a series is complete to read it, since I’m impatient about waiting for the next book. Then I get too impatient and read it anyway. It’s a viscous cycle. Thank you for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

