Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

It’s a Disaster (Rated R)

Starring:  Julia Stiles, David Cross, America Ferrera, Erinn Hayes, Jeff Grace, Rachel Boston, Kevin Brennan, and Blaise Miller

Directed by:  Todd Berger

Synopsis:  Faced with the knowledge that the world may be about to end, four couples stuck in a house together continue to deal with their relationship issues.

My Thoughts:  I hadn’t really heard much about It’s a Disaster before watching it, but I knew a lot of the names associated with it.  I figured it might be an interesting way to spend about 2 hours.  Sometimes those lesser known movies turn out to be completely awesome.

It’s a Disaster was just so random.  The movie starts off with 4 couples getting together for brunch.  All of a sudden it’s the end of the world.  The plot just spiraled into full-on weird after that.  America Ferrera had one of the most believable reactions to the world ending; drinking, taking some pills and just being an all around downer.  The others just went about arguing over things that really should not have mattered at that point in the story.

I’ve always thought there was something inherently creepy about David Cross, in general.  It’s a Disaster did not change that opinion.  It may have strengthened it a bit.  The coupling of Julia Stiles and David Cross was weird, at best.  Then he decided to forever scar me and make it so that I will probably never be able to date a bald man with glasses and a beard (not that I was on the lookout for that, but it’s the principle).

So overall, I thought It’s a Disaster was just a little too off kilter for me to enjoy it.  If you’re a huge fan of independent films and loathe anything mainstream, then I might actually recommend It’s a Disaster.  For everyone else, I’d recommend that you skip it unless you’re in the mood for something very peculiar.

2 out of 5 Popcorn Buckets = I couldn’t help thinking, WTF did I just watch?

Interested in buying this movie?  DVD or Instant Video

its_a_disaster

Leave a Reply

