Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

Wreck-It Ralph (Rated PG)

Starring:  John C. Reilly, Jack McBrayer, Jane Lynch, Sarah Silverman, Alan Tudyk, and Mindy Kaling

Directed by:  Rich Moore

Synopsis:  Wreck-It Ralph longs to be as beloved as his game’s perfect Good Guy, Fix-It Felix. Problem is, nobody loves a Bad Guy. But they do love heroes… so when a modern, first-person shooter game arrives featuring tough-as-nails Sergeant Calhoun, Ralph sees it as his ticket to heroism and happiness. He sneaks into the game with a simple plan — win a medal — but soon wrecks everything, and accidentally unleashes a deadly enemy that threatens every game in the arcade. Ralph’s only hope? Vanellope von Schweetz, a young troublemaking “glitch” from a candy-coated cart racing game who might just be the one to teach Ralph what it means to be a Good Guy. But will he realize he is good enough to become a hero before it’s “Game Over” for the entire arcade?

My Thoughts:  Did anyone else assume Wreck-It Ralph would be hilarious?  Or at least chuckle worthy?  I realize assumptions lead to disappointment, at least in regards to tv and movies, but sometimes you just can’t help it.

We’ll start with the level of hilarity.  I’ll admit that I saw the previews and thought Wreck-It Ralph looked funny.  Yes, I know; previews tend to be very misleading.  I also saw the cast list though and figured it had to be funny.  I was wrong.  I may have chuckled once or twice, but I honestly don’t remember.  Frankly, Wreck-It Ralph was kind of sad at some parts.  I actually know a few people who teared up during the movie.

The creativity involved in creating Wreck-It Ralph was pretty impressive.  It was awesome that they included older, well-known games along with some that may be real games (but I don’t know much about video games so can’t tell you).  If they did make some of those games up, than holy crap that’s amazing!  The colors were incredible too.  Animated movies are usually pretty good about having a lot of color and what-not considering they’re trying to keep a child’s attention.

Now we come to the characters.  I didn’t really like Felix (Jack McBrayer) very much.  He was a bit annoying, but I’m also not a huge fan of McBrayer to begin with.  Ralph (John C. Reilly) was okay.  He had an awful lot of misdirected anger.  Vanellope (Sarah Silverman) was kind of cute.  I felt bad for her though and that was were the story got pretty twisted (I liked that).

Overall, I was a little confused by Wreck-It Ralph.  It started out with a very weak plot and then transformed into a very interesting/strange story that I’m not sure children would catch the significance of.  If you have kids, Wreck-It Ralph would make an entertaining family movie.  If you absolutely love animated movies, you’ll probably enjoy Wreck-It Ralph.  If you’re taste seems to be closely match with mine, then you’ll more than likely be underwhelmed by Wreck-It Ralph.

3 out of 5 Popcorn Buckets =  It’s not that I liked it, per say, but I couldn’t justify giving it less than 3 out of 5.

Interested in buying this movie?  DVD or Instant Video

wreck_it_ralph

Leave a Reply

