Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 New-To-Me Authors I Read in 2014

toptentuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is a fun weekly link-up in the community where The Broke and the Bookish provides a prompt and other lovers of list making join in on it with their own top ten list. You can have less than 10 or more if you need to at times and put a spin on the topic if you need to! All they ask is that you link back to them if you’re participating.

This year, in January, I started this blog.  I started it because I love to read and I wanted to write out my thoughts on books I’ve read and help other people decide whether or not a book is worth their time and money.  The point of telling you this is that I read a LOT of New-To-Me Authors in 2014.  Becoming active in the book blogger community means getting tons of new book recommendations, both directly and indirectly.  That is both awesome and intimidating.  My TBR shelf is ridiculous and the to-buy list is longer than Santa’s naughty or nice list.

My list this week is a mix of the New-To-Me Authors that were my favorite and those that are just very popular (but I didn’t like).  Some of these are very well-known authors and I’m not saying I didn’t know who they were before 2014 (I just hadn’t read any of their books).  This is my list of authors that I read my first book by them in 2014, but in reality there are way more than 10 for this year.

Top 10 New-To-Me Authors I Read in 2014

danielle-paige-books

1.  Danielle Paige – I am currently obsessed with the Dorothy Must Die series.  I read No Place Like Oz, The Witch Must Burn, and I am in the middle of Dorothy Must Die.  We all know that The Wicked Will Rise (book 2) comes out on March 23, 2015.  This past weekend I found out that a third prequel is coming out on March 3, 2015 called The Wizard Returns.

kaufman-spooner-books

2.  Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner – I am obsessed with the Starbound series.  I read These Broken Stars after Ali from No Money 4 Books recommended it to me and the obsession started.  I also read This Night So Dark (the short story) to get myself ready for This Shattered World.

jennifer-comeaux-books

3.  Jennifer Comeaux – I stumbled across this author thanks to a Goodreads group that I’m part of.  I read Crossing the Ice, the first book in her Ice series.  I’m already pumped for the release of Losing the Ice (book 2) in 2015.  Now I’ve also gotten it into my head that I need to give her Edge series a chance.  I’ll have to wait until after January 7 to buy it though (I promised my family I wouldn’t buy anymore books until after my birthday, so there wouldn’t be duplicates as gifts).

charlie-lovett-books

4.  Charlie Lovett – I feel like I owe this particular author a huge thank you.  I read First Impressions and recently bought another one of his books, The Bookman’s Tale.  I owe him the thank you because he inspired me to finally buy a Jane Austen book (I actually bought 2).  I’ll finally be reading Pride & Prejudice because of him and then I can read Pride and Prejudice and Zombies.

tellulah-darling-books

5.  Tellulah Darling – Yet another author I read books by in an obsessive way.  The Blooming Goddess trilogy was a favorite of mine this year.  I read My Ex From Hell, My Date From Hell and My Life From Hell, but seriously out of order.  It was playing havoc with my OCD tendencies.

stephen-king-books

6.  Stephen King – I knew who Stephen King was before this year; I don’t live under a rock.  I just hadn’t ever picked up one of his books.  I read Firestarter during a Round Robin guest posting event and really wasn’t a fan.  But BookJunkieKrystal at Books Are My Thing is such a huge Stephen King fan that she convinced me to try Cell, since it’s King’s version of a zombie book.  That was all it took.  I started IT, but haven’t finished it (it’s soooo long and really creepy).  I also started The Stand, but haven’t had a lot of time to sit and read it.  I did buy quite a few of his books and they’re patiently waiting their turn on my TBR shelf.

ashley-c-harris-books

7.  Ashley C. Harris – This author was another “discovery” thanks to a Goodreads group.  I read Shock Me (book 1) and thought it was pretty amazing.  I’ll be buying Sparks and Collide in short order (i.e. on January 8).

tracey-ward-books

8.  Tracey Ward – She wrote the Quarantined series, which is a zombie series!  I read Until the End and In the End.  I still haven’t picked up her Survival series; it’s related.  That just goes to show how many other things I’ve been reading this year because I’ve neglected to pick up a zombie series.

rainbow-rowell-books

9.  Rainbow Rowell – I’m really not a fan of hers.  I read Eleanor & Park and Fangirl this year and I wasn’t all that impressed.  I’m stuck on trying to figure out what everyone else sees in these books that I’m apparently missing.  I did like Fangirl, but I definitely didn’t love it.  I may read Landline just to make sure I’m not a fan.

hanna-peach-books

10.  Hanna Peach – This was a surprise find.  She’s a self-published author and I realize a lot of people automatically skip those books, but I’m so glad I didn’t skip the Dark Angel series.  I read Angelfire and was completely sucked into it.  I have Angelstone (book 2) waiting to be read and I’m sure I’ll buy Angelsong and Angelblood (books 3 and 4) in the new year.

funny-women-books

Honorable Mentions:  Amy Poehler, Tina Fey & Mindy Kahling – This year I realized I love reading autobiographies by female comedians.  I suppose I should’ve known because I have all of Chelsea Handler’s books, but that could be a one-off.  I read Yes Please, Bossypants, and Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? this year.

14 Comments

  1. I definitely need to check out more of Danielle Page!! All of your Autobiographies listed are also on my TBR list. Here’s my TTT

    • I would highly recommend her and definitely start with the prequels. They’re not only awesome, but that way you’ll have some investment in the series. Thank you for stopping by today! 🙂 And Yes Please was my favorite of the autobiographies.

  2. Ehhh, I recently read Attachments by Rowell (her debut novel), because neither Fangirl nor Eleanor & Park sounded interesting to me. It was okay, but I don’t see the hype either.

    • We’re on the same page here. I feel like reading 2 books and not being overly impressed is probably good enough. Maybe one day I’ll read Attachments or Landline, but not anytime soon.

  3. comehometobooks

    Congratulations on almost one year of book blogging! That’s awesome. The book blogosphere is always a fun place to be, but I agree, the book recommendations can be very, very overwhelming! In a good way, of course 🙂

    So, I can only take Stephen King in small does. I like his books, but they mess with my head! I re-read NEEDFUL THINGS at Halloween time and it was a good, spooky read.

    Happy TTT!

    Susan
    http://www.blogginboutbooks.com

    • Thank you so much! I can definitely see your point with SK. That might be the reason that It has been such a problem for me because it’s anything but boring. I may have just burned myself out on him for a little bit. Thank you for stopping by today!

  4. Love the list – even though you’re not a Rowell fan lol. I just read This Night So Dark after I saw it on your blog (didn’t know it existed) and it was very interesting – I can’t wait to see how it ties in with the next book! Also I’m reading Kaling’s book right now and it’s super funny. 🙂

    • Ha! I knew you’d like Kaling’s book, but I’m a little relieved I was right. And I can’t wait to see the tie-in with This Shattered World. I don’t want to rush the month, but I’d like to start reading the new book.

  5. So many of these authors were new to me this year too! Great list!
    Missie @ A Flurry of Ponderings
    Enter my blog birthday giveaway!

    • It sounds like we were reading a lot of the same books then. 🙂 Thank you for stopping by!

  6. Rainbow Rowell is one who is definitely on my list for next year! I keep seeing her all over other blogs and I know I need to check it out. I too was obsessed with Stephen King this year- it was like I got started on some of his stuff and couldn’t stop! Great list!

    Here is mine 🙂 http://busybrunettesbookshelf.blogspot.com/2014/12/top-ten-tuesday_9.html

    • I’d start with either Attachments or Fangirl as your first Rowell book. Those seem to be the two that impress the majority. And I’m glad someone else obsessed over King this year. I’m already thinking next October will be solely dedicated to reading SK books. Maybe I can contain my obsession that way. Thank you for stopping by!

  7. I think that if you didn’t like Rainbow’s other books, you won’t like Landline. I enjoyed Landline, but it is weaker than her other books. If you really want to try something else by her, I’d recommend Attachments which I enjoyed more.

    • That’s probably very true. If I decide to pick up another one of her books, I’ll make sure to go with Attachments. Thanks for pointing that out; it’s always helpful to have someone that’s read them and knows which way to steer you. Thank you for stopping by! 🙂

Leave a Reply

