Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

Save the Date

by Tamara Summers

Overview (from B&N.com):  Victoria Finnegan to marry Kevin Ork in the Rose Bower of Cynthia Flair Botanical Gardens

Sunday, June 17, 3 p.m.

Dress: very flowery.

Yay.

Paris Finnegan is marrying Jiro Kuan on the beach at Huntsville National Park
Saturday, August 11, 1 p.m.

Dress: Um . . . she’s not really making me wear overalls, right???

Hideous bridesmaid dress fitting #6

Calm Victoria down.

Try not to kill Paris.

Try not to think about wedding planner’s hot son.

Do not date wedding planner’s hot son.

Stop kissing wedding planner’s hot son!!!

My Thoughts:  I have a slight problem when I read books about “sisterly love”.  I don’t understand it.  Genuinely don’t get it.  I don’t have any sisters.  I have one brother and when we got mad, we fought and I mean literally fought (with fists flying and waterworks galore).  Once he actually bit me.  Bit me!  And when we argued it was mainly swear words with the rest being complete nonsense.  Back to my main point, sisterly love is interesting to read about, but I have no context for whether or not it’s realistic.

The storyline for Save the Date was actually pretty cute.  The main character, Jakarta (Jack – female), was really great.  I never really got annoyed with her, even when I didn’t necessarily agree with a decision she made.  Her sisters were bonkers.  Paris and Victoria each had their pros and cons.  They’d also both be a nightmare to live with.  I’m not sure bridezilla is a strong enough term to describe the way Paris acts throughout Save the Date.  If I were Sophie, it may have turned into a horror novel after I killed them all.  It was unbelievably entertaining to read though, as a third-party observer.

The writing was pretty good.  There were no glaring mistakes or rambling passages that took forever to read through.  Save the Date was actually a pretty quick read.  I think it took me about 4 hours to read it.  It is definitely a young adult contemporary romance and regardless of the less than realistic romances going on throughout the book, it was still entertaining as all get out.

When it comes down to it, I would definitely recommend Save the Date.  It’s a quick, fun read and as long as you like cute chick lit books you’ll enjoy it.  If you’re going into this with Harlequin expectations then you might want to re-read both the overview and my review.  Save the Date would actually be a perfect beach read; I realize it’s winter here, but that is not the case everywhere.

4 out of 5 Bookmarks = I really liked it and would love to read more from this author.

Interested in buying this book?  Amazon or Barnes & Noble

save-the-date

Leave a Reply

