Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

Guardians of the Galaxy (Rated PG-13)

Starring:  Chris Pratt, Zoe Saldana, Dave Bautista, Vin Diesel, and Bradley Cooper

Directed by:  James Gunn

Synopsis:  After stealing a mysterious orb in the far reaches of outer space, Peter Quill from Earth, is now the main target of a manhunt led by the villain known as Ronan the Accuser. To help fight Ronan and his team and save the galaxy from his power, Quill creates a team of space heroes known as the “Guardians of the Galaxy” to save the world.

My Thoughts:  I am currently obsessed with Marvel movies.  I just can’t seem to get enough of them.  Whether they have extraordinary abilities, they’re aliens, or regular people put into extraordinary situations, I don’t care.  I love them all.  But if I’m being 100% honest, I thought Guardians of the Galaxy looked stupid and I didn’t really want to like it.

As it turns out it didn’t matter what I wanted or what my expectations may have been.  I was hugely impressed with the story.  I loved most of the characters and I think the casting was both interesting and kind of brilliant.  I think Starlord might be my new favorite “hero”.

Chris Pratt is someone worth watching.  I will admit that I generally laugh at his character, Andy, from Parks and Recreation.  There are times when I think he’s over the top and just not funny, so I kind of assumed his character in Guardians of the Galaxy would be like that.  Parts of it were like that, but it actually worked with the rest of the movie so it never truly came across as ridiculous in the context.

The storyline was interesting and action packed.  There were so many things going on, but I never felt lost or confused.  It did have a lot of action, but Guardians of the Galaxy wasn’t without its slow parts.  I found myself a little bored when there was a lot of focus on Gamora or Drax.  I don’t really know why those two in particular held no appeal for me, but it’s the truth.  I was very satisfied with the stories they tied up and those that were left open (for sequels???).

Overall I enjoyed watching Guardians of the Galaxy and I’ll probably re-watch it in the near future.  The few parts that I actively found myself bored during is what dropped my rating, but still a better than average rating.  If you love marvel comic book movies, you should check out Guardians of the Galaxy.  If you love Andy Dwyer on Parks and Recreation, you should check Chris Pratt out in Guardians of the Galaxy.  Finally, if you’re nostalgic for the addition of 80s music to movies, you should check out Guardians of the Galaxy.

***Side Note:  Dancing Groot is adorable and I want one.  Check him out here.

4 out of 5 Popcorn Buckets = I will definitely be going to see the sequel.

Interested in buying this movie?  DVD or Instant Video

guardians-of-the-galaxy

Leave a Reply

