Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Books I Read in 2014

toptentuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is a fun weekly link-up in the community where The Broke and the Bookish provides a prompt and other lovers of list making join in on it with their own top ten list. You can have less than 10 or more if you need to at times and put a spin on the topic if you need to! All they ask is that you link back to them if you’re participating.

This week’s Top 10 list was pretty tough.  I’m one of those annoying people that refuses to answer the question, “what’s your favorite book?”  I don’t have one or there are too many to choose from.  I do realize this can be a very irritating answer, but it’s still true.  So making a list of my favorite 10 books was not the easiest thing.  The fact that I was supposed to have read these books in 2014 did help, but was still tough.  I do want to point out that this list is not in any particular order.  You can’t expect me to rank them too (that might kill me).  Here are my. . .

Top 10 Books I Read in 2014

challenge1_dec161.  Yes Please by Amy Poehler – As of this moment, this book is my favorite memoir/autobiography.  I wasn’t expecting to love it as much as I did.  What a pleasant surprise!

2.  These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner – This book is the cause of my obsession with the release of This Shattered World.  I think I’ve found a way to bring that up in every TTT for the past 3 weeks or so.  I read this and reviewed it as a guest poster (as part of a Round Robin thing) at No Money 4 Books and Ali (from NM4B) recommended it for me.

3.  Cell by Stephen King – Not my first King novel, but it was the catalyst for my obsession with his books.  My first try with a SK novel was not a pleasant experience, but I gave him another try based on BookJunkieKrystal’s (from Books Are My Thing) recommendation.

challenge2_dec164.  The Forever Watch by David Ramirez – A brilliant sci-fi novel that deserves way more attention than it has received.

5.  My Date From Hell by Tellulah Darling – I loved the whole Blooming Goddess trilogy, but this was my favorite with My Life From Hell running a very close second.

6.  The Girl with All the Gifts by M. R. Carey – This was another pleasant surprise for me.  I was reading it and thought it started a bit slow, then I finished and suddenly it seemed like everyone was talking about it.  It almost killed me to write the review while staying away from spoilers.

challenge3_dec167.  People I Want to Punch in the Throat:  Competitive Crafters, Drop-Off Despots, and Other Suburban Scourges by Jen Mann – Probably my favorite Netgalley find so far.  It was hilarious and is the reason I subscribed to the blog too.

8.  Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige – I feel like I need to include the prequels here too.  No Place Like Oz and The Witch Must Burn were definitely worth reading and added quite a bit to my enjoyment of the series.  The review will be up on December 31.  It’ll be my last review of 2014!

9.  The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen – This was an absolutely beautiful book and unfortunately I haven’t had the time to read anything else from Dessen.  I bought 3 more of her books though, so lookout 2015; prepare to be dominated.

is_everyone_hanging_out_without_me

10.  Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? by Mindy Kaling – This was hilarious and worth reading.  Plus it was the perfect book to pick up and put down constantly.

What were the best books you read this year?  Anything I should be chomping at the bit to get my hands on?

 

17 Comments

  1. THE TRUTH ABOUT FOREVER. One of my faves by Sarah Dessen.

    • It’s still the only one I’ve read by her, but it was seriously amazing.

      • THIS LULLABY and JUST LISTEN are great too.

      • I recently bought Just Listen, so I’ll have to check out This Lullaby next. Thank you for the recommendations!

  2. Truth about forever is one of my absolute favorite Sarah Dessen books. I am constantly torn between that one and This Lullaby as to which is my favorite. I hope you enjoy them all as much as I have. She is by far my favorite author out there. I haven’t read any of the others on your list, although quite a few are on my TBR list.

    My TTT
    LisaILJ @ I’ll Tumble for YA

    • I’m pretty excited to read more by her. I’ve heard so many great things about her books and I can’t believe it’s taken me so long to read them.

  3. Love your list! I have been wanting to read the Amy Poehler and Mindy Kaling books for awhile and seeing them on your top list makes me want to scoot them up my TBR pile faster!

    Here is mine 🙂

    http://busybrunettesbookshelf.blogspot.com

    • Hopefully you’ll love them as much as I did, but for Amy Poehler the audiobook is the only way to go. 😀 You won’t regret it.

  4. I’m pretty sure I’m in love with self-narrated audiobook memoirs after finishing Bossypants. Yes Please is definitely on the list, as is the Mindy Kaling book! (Yes, I just confirmed that she reads her own book as well, and it’s been on my list, so yay!!!)

    • I can’t wait to hear what you think of Mindy Kaling’s book. That was one of the only memoirs that I just read. It was funny on its own so I’ll be curious to hear what you think of the audiobook.

  5. I loved the Truth About Forever and have Dorothy and These Broken Stars on my TBR list.
    I am intrigued with People I Want to Punch (I have a few in mind!) will look this one up. Thank you for the visit 🙂

    • I really hope you laugh as hard as I did when you read PIWTPITT!

  6. comehometobooks

    I’m with you on picking favorites. I just picked ten out of the books I had starred as favorites. Were they my most favorite-favorites of the year? Yes and no.

    The only one I’ve sort of read on your list is DOROTHY MUST DIE. I quit halfway through because it just wasn’t keeping my interest. Lots of people rave about it, though, so maybe I need to give it another go?

    Happy TTT (on Wednesday — I’m a little late to the party)!

    Susan
    http://www.blogginboutbooks.com

    • When you were reading Dorothy Must Die, did you read the 2 prequels first? If you haven’t, you might want to do that before picking it up again. It’s a completely different reading experience.

      Thank you for stopping by! 🙂

  7. The Girl with All the Gifts is high on my reading list 😀 I’ve heard so many good things about it!

    • I hope you enjoy it as much as I did! Thank you for stopping by.

  8. Awesome list! Glad These Broken Stars made your top reads 🙂

Leave a Reply

