Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

The Boyfriend League

by Rachel Hawthorne

Overview (from Goodreads.com):  The Ragland Rattlers

$1 Night

$1 baseball cap with home team logo
$1 program
$1 hot dogs
$1 drinks
$1 popcorn

But how much to get the hot pitcher to notice you exist?

My Thoughts:  Do you remember those all-consuming feelings you had growing up, specifically in high school?  When every guy or girl that you dated or had a crush on was probably the one?  And one of THE most important things was to have a boyfriend or girlfriend?  I’ll admit that I remember feeling that way sometimes, but never really gave into the feelings.  I always told myself that the odds of meeting the one while I was in high school were pretty darn slim.  I still think I was right.

Rachel Hawthorne perfectly captures those feelings in The Boyfriend League.  I felt like I was reliving some of my high school moments (it wasn’t that long ago; I’m only in my 20s), except it turned out much better and definitely less awkward in The Boyfriend League.

The main character, Dani, was refreshing.  She was really into baseball (which isn’t my favorite, but beggars can’t be choosers) and that’s a big deal to have a female character be really into sports.  She was sarcastic and witty.  I found myself full-on laughing during some of her exchanges.  The male lead, Jason, was adorable and I want one.  The chemistry between Dani and Jason was so sweet.

I will admit the initial premise of The Boyfriend League is kind of ridiculous.  It was a bit reminiscent of Summer Catch (with Freddie Prinze Jr. and Jessica Biel).  The whole idea of offering your house to a baseball player for the summer seems kind of weird to me, but like I said I’m not into baseball.  So maybe that’s pretty normal at the college level.

The Boyfriend League was a quick read.  If you’re looking for a clean, sweet young adult book look no further.  The Boyfriend League is for you.  If you’re already a Rachel Hawthorne fan and you haven’t read The Boyfriend League yet, what are you waiting for?  Ultimately I would recommend it, unless you absolutely hate chick lit.

5 out of 5 Bookmarks = This is my favorite Rachel Hawthorne book!

Interested in buying this book?  Amazon or Barnes & Noble

the-boyfriend-league

Leave a Reply

