Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

Crow: Episode One

by Alex Owens

Overview (from Goodreads):  Cassiopeia “Pia” Alexander is just your typical college student. She can’t pick a major, her love life is virtually non-existent and the only thing good in her life seems to be her job as an Animal ER Nurse. Even that doesn’t feel like enough, though.

Beylin Callaghan is one of the Brotherhood tasked to give souls a winged-ride from one life to the next, and to remove the memories from each soul so that they can start with a fresh slate in their new incarnations.

But he’s keeping a secret– a secret that when exposed, will bind Pia’s fate to his own. For better or worse.

Full Disclosure:  I received a copy of this book from the author, via LibraryThing, in exchange for an honest review.

My Thoughts:  Reincarnation.  Do you believe in reincarnation?  Don’t worry, this post won’t turn into what I believe vs. the book, blah, blah, blah.  I’m actually curious who out there believes in reincarnation.  It’s a pretty cool concept.  Or maybe the book’s premise is better described by rebirth, since they’re always human.  Frankly, I don’t know the technical definitions to distinguish between the two and I’m too lazy to look them up.

I really like the main character, Pia.  She’s relatable and likable.  She’s also and animal ER nurse, which in my opinion is very cool.  If the job didn’t involve putting animals down, I would be all over that career path.  She seems to have a good head on her shoulders and isn’t an idiot.  Beylin is weirdly creepy.  I get that he’s supposed to be sexy and the love of her lives, but something within their story is inherently creepy and I can’t quite put my finger on what it is.

The storyline is intriguing.  It definitely kept me reading until the end.  I thought the modern-day twist was more interesting than the historical twist of the prequel, Crow:  The Prequel.  More details could be included about characters and their former lives, but as a short story series it works.

I enjoyed reading Crow:  Episode One and I enjoyed it much more than the prequel.  I think I’ll be reading Crow:  Episode Two.  I’m curious.  If you’re really into reincarnation through rebirth, then you may really like this short story series.  I wouldn’t judge the series on its prequel though.

3 out of 5 Bookmarks = I liked it a lot more than the prequel.

Interested in buying this book?  Amazon

crow_episode_one

Leave a Reply

