Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

Bout of Books 12 Read-A-Thon

bout_of_books12

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, January 5th and runs through Sunday, January 11th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 12 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog.

I don’t know where I’ve been.  In La-La Land apparently.  I knew Bout of Books happened more than once a year, but for some reason I was thinking it was a spring reading challenge.  Like I said, I have no idea where my brain has been lately.  Thank goodness Ali @ No Money 4 Books posted about this today or I’d be even more clueless.

This is obviously my post declaring my intention to participate.  Normally with these reading challenges I just read.  This time I’m going to actually try to participate a bit more and do some of the daily challenges.  I’m not promising that it’ll work and I won’t be a complete disaster, but it’s the thought that counts, right?

With this one we weren’t specifically asked to set goals, but I’m going to.  I have to, otherwise I’ll be all over the place and absolutely nothing will get done.  Bout of Books will not affect the posts I had planned for this week.  They’re all done and scheduled for their normal times.  My Bout of Books posts will be more like a bonus or a challenge for me.

My Goals:

1.  Read 5 books – My average is easily 2 books/week so I think 5 is doable, especially considering I have a few days off of work this coming week!

2.  Participate in 2 of the daily challenges – I’m definitely low balling this one to make it doable because I don’t know if I’m actually going to be able to stick with this one.  I get kind of lazy about posting things if I wait until the last-minute.

3.  Wrap-Up Post – I’m usually pretty good about typing up my wrap-up post.  In all honesty, I like the wrap-up post because it makes me feel so freaking accomplished, especially if I reach whatever goal I set.  The goal part of this is having it up Monday afternoon (1/12), after my Movie Monday post.

4.  Tweet during the challenge – I’m terrible when it comes to using Twitter.  I’ve gotten better with tweeting about my posts, but sometimes I genuinely don’t understand what I’m doing on Twitter.  Plus, it’s not something I think about when I’m reading.

I thought about listing the books that I wanted to get read, but I’ve found that as soon as I do that, I’m almost guaranteeing myself that I won’t read a single one of those.  We’ll just have to wait and see what happens there.

Good luck to everyone participating and to those reading, hopefully you enjoy it!  These posts may be a bit more candid and you’ll surely be able to see some of my frustration with myself.

Leave a Reply

