Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

2015 Chunkster Reading Challenge

chunkster-challenge-2015Wondering what’s a chunkster? A chunkster is an adult or YA book, non-fiction or fiction, that’s 450 pages or more.

Here’s the rules for this year’s challenge:

  • Audio books and e-books are allowed. You want to listen to a chunkster on audio? Be my guest.
  • Essay, short story, and poetry collections are allowed but they have to be read in their entirety to count.
  •  Books may crossover with other challenges.
  • Anyone can join. You don’t need a blog. Feel free to leave your progress on the monthly link-up posts.
  •  You don’t have to list your books ahead of time.
  •  Graphic novels don’t count. Reading a chunkster graphic novel isn’t the same as reading a non-graphic chunkster.

The 2015 Chunkster Challenge is hosted by Vasilly.  I’m really excited about this reading challenge because I sometimes intentionally skip over reading great books because of how long they are.  That stops this year, to a degree.

There aren’t any levels set with this challenge, but I want to make sure I put my goals out there for all the world to hear and see (I might actually try to reach my goal that way).  My goal is to read 10 chunksters this year.  I’m a little worried that I’m making this extra difficult for myself by going too high, but I really need to branch out more.  You can either bookmark this page, where I’ll be keeping track of my progress or check out the wrap-up at the end of the year.  I may do a half-way mark post, just to keep myself accountable before December 2015 gets here.

Chunksters Currently Reading:

Chunksters Read:  1

  • A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness, 579 pages

Are you planning to read any chunksters this year?

1 Comment

  1. If anyone needs a book (465 pp. in paperback, somewhat longer in digital editions), you can download the first half of my novel “Irish Firebrands” at my blog, or from Smashwords. When you get to the end of the sample, contact me via my blog’s Feedback > Guestbook page, and I’ll send you the rest of the book (be sure to mention that you’re doing the Chunkster Challenge). I also have it in audio files (beta edition) – contact me at my blog for this option. I’m at: irishfirebrands.wordpress.com
    – Christine Plouvier

Leave a Reply

