Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

Bout of Books 12 Read-A-Thon Wrap Up

bout_of_books12

The Bout of Books 12 Read-A-Thon has officially ended.  I’m a bit sad to see it end.  I’d love to have another week to read some more.  It’s not that I’ll stop reading, but I read voraciously during a read-a-thon and it’s actually a lot of fun.  I can’t read like that all the time though because I would burn out faster than a firework.  I know you’re all curious about how I did, so let’s get to it.

My goals:

  • Read 5 books.
  • Participate in 2 of the daily challenges.
  • Complete a wrap up post in a timely manner.
  • Tweet during the challenge.

How did I do?

Books I Started, but Didn’t Finish:

  • Melt by Selene Castrovilla  (although I finished this at lunch today, Monday)
  • Boy, Snow, Bird by Helen Oyeyemi  (only made it to Ch. 3)

What I managed to read:

  • Top Ten Clues You’re Clueless by Liz Czukas
  • A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness  (All Souls #1)
  • The Body in the Woods by April Henry  (Point Last Seen #1)
  • Alienated by Melissa Landers  (Alienated #1)
  • Stolen by Erin Bowman  (Taken #0.5)
  • Until Midnight by Melissa Landers  (Alienated #1.5)
  • Half Lies by Sally Green  (Half Bad #0.5)

Be on the lookout in the coming weeks for these reviews.  I will give you a small exclusive; none of these reviews are below 3 stars.

Completed Daily Challenges:

I actually managed to complete 3 of the daily challenges, so I’m pretty darn proud of that.  That’s actually one more than I anticipated being able to complete.

This is obviously my wrap-up posting and it’s out the day after Bout of Books ended, so I’d say that counts as a check mark.

Twitter:  Eh.  I did okay with this one.  I did tweet occasionally, but it was nowhere near what I meant to do.  Apparently this is something I need to work on in general, not just during Bout of Books.

I didn’t do any updates during the week.  Did anyone want to see that?  I kind of felt like that may have been a waste of my time and yours.  Dang, maybe I should’ve done a halfway point update post.  Oh well.  Next time!

I would say Bout of Books 12 was a success.  Not only did I reach the majority of my goals (I met the important ones), I also had so much fun.  This was definitely the most fun I’ve had with a Read-A-Thon so far.  I really think the addition of the daily challenges helped.  I hope everyone else that participated had fun and that all of you readers enjoyed the posts and reviews to come!

2 Comments

  1. I am so impressed at what you got done for this week – all those books and daily challenges – awesome! 🙂

  2. I would have wanted to see the daily updates. I love visiting the blogs daily. I didn’t get to all of them, but I got to many of them and I’m getting to all of the wrap-ups. It’s fun to visit often and see how things are going with others. Here’s how my Bout of Books 12 ended up.

Leave a Reply

