Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Freebie Week

toptentuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is a fun weekly link-up in the community where The Broke and the Bookish provides a prompt and other lovers of list making join in on it with their own top ten list. You can have less than 10 or more if you need to at times and put a spin on the topic if you need to! All they ask is that you link back to them if you’re participating.

This week’s challenge was a freebie week.  We could choose any topic we wanted and just go with it.  I definitely struggled this week.  I am so much better when I have lines to color inside of.  But I didn’t give up and decide not to participate, I made an effort and hopefully you guys don’t think it sucks.

I’ve been reading like a fiend so far this year.  I’m actually pretty proud of myself because I’ve already read 15 books and we’re only a little over halfway through January.  I’m a tad worried about hitting a reading slump, but we’ll deal with that if it happens.  My Top 10 list reflects this, so there was a point to telling you guys all of that.  This week is my:

Top 10 Books Next on My Reading List

challenge1_jan20

1.  Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch – I technically started this book Sunday night after the Patriots game ended, but since I’m only a few chapters in I decided to count it.  You never know, I could end up with another case of book A.D.D. and it’ll be another month or so before I finish it (I really hope that doesn’t happen).

2.  The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski – I’ve wanted to read this for a while now, so I requested it from the library.  It’s pretty much next on my list because there are no renewals and it’s due February 7.

3.  I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson – Another library book that’s due on February 7, so I’ve got to get to it (I had 5 that are due then with no renewals; I’ve already finished 3).  It looks a bit on the serious side, but you can’t always read the same books (that would be boring).

challenge2_jan20

4.  Shadow of Night by Deborah Harkness – I’m pretty darn excited about starting this one.  My review for A Discovery of Witches (book 1) will actually be up tomorrow, but they’re a little long so I needed to take a break in between.  Plus I didn’t want to burn myself out on one series.  Time travel here I come!

5.  Boy, Snow, Bird by Helen Oyeyemi – I’ve checked this book out from the library 3 times now without even opening it.  I need to actually read it this time.  Third time’s the charm right?

6.  Unhinged by A.G. Howard – I read Splintered like I was a crazy person, so I’m pretty darn excited about reading Unhinged.  I could’ve started it right away, but like I said I’m trying not to burn myself out on any one series.

challenge3_jan20

7.  Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel – I started this last year and then got very distracted by so many other things.  So I put it on my immediate reading list.  I’m going to restart it (I only got to chapter 3 last year) and actually focus this time.  My lack of focus wasn’t the book’s fault, for the record.

8.  White Space by Ilsa Bick – It’s a book about books and their fictional worlds.  Why wouldn’t I want to read it?

9.  Jackaby by William Ritter – I’ve been dying to read this ever since I read Ali’s (@ No Money 4 Books) review.

ensnared

10.  Ensnared by A.G. Howard – Duh.  If I’m going to read Unhinged, then I’ll be hitting this one shortly after.

Honorable Mention:  The Book of Life by Deborah Harkness – Once again I have to put some books in between the books of this series so I don’t end up in a reading slump.

the-book-of-life

 

3 Comments

  1. Yay the Splintered Trilogy ! It is one of my all time favorites!

  2. So many good ones on here I want to read too! 🙂 Jackaby is a quick read, on the shorter side in case you get in reading slump and need something a little lighter to get you back on track. I like the Winner’s Curse too. I’m excited to see what you think of Snow Like Ashes!

  3. Nice topic!! Love the book covers!!. Here’s my TTT post for the week: http://captivatedreader.blogspot.com/2015/01/top-ten-tuesday-authors-id-like-to-meet.html

Leave a Reply

