Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

Treat Yo Self Thursday – January 22, 2015

treat-yo-self-thursday1

Over at No Money 4 Books, they created this bookish meme called Treat Yo Self Thursday.  We all know that it’s just not possible to buy ourselves every book or bookish item that we’d like, but we should treat ourselves once in a while!  Inspired by Parks and Recreation’s Treat Yo Self Day, this is a chance to share what bookish item you treated yourself to this week.  It can be a book you had to get your hands on, a great deal you just couldn’t pass up, or even reading paraphernalia such as a shiny new e-reader, cool bookmarks, cute reading glasses… nothing’s too small to include on Treat Yo Self Thursday!

I bought some books this morning because there was a deal on Thriftbooks and I ended up spending $20.17 (and yes they’re all physical books, not ebooks).  That doesn’t include the book I ordered from B&N, which is listed first.  I was dying to buy The Martian by Andy Weir this week, but I just couldn’t justify spending $15 on one book.  Check out my book haul below:

  • A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens  *(Barnes & Noble Collectible Edition) – $3.99
  • Bones Never Lie by Kathy Reichs
  • Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil by John Berendt
  • Saving Francesca by Melina Marchetta
  • Scarlet by Marissa Meyer
  • The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon
  • The Monsters of Templeton by Lauren Groff
  • The Troop by Nick Cutter
  • The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski

treat-yo-self1_jan22

 

treat-yo-self2_jan22

 

treat-yo-self3_jan22

4 Comments

  1. OMG I love SO many of these books – I’m so excited for you to read them!!! The Bone Season is so cool and the second book in the series comes out next week so you won’t have to wait forever for it like I did. 🙂 You must get The Martian, although I wouldn’t pay $15 for one book either so I understand. But keep an eye out for a deal on that one – it’s good. And Scarlet is my fave in the Lunar Chronicles series so hopefully you’ll like it more than Cinder. Such an exciting treat yo self Thursday – love it!

    • I’m really excited for them to come in the mail. It’s always nice when you get a ridiculously good deal on a book you’ve wanted to read for awhile. I’m so glad you started these Treat Yo Self Thursdays.

  2. Kelsey

    Haha. I got The Martian for like $8.92 on Amazon today! Super excited about it arriving..along with Shadow of the Night 🙂 I’m freaking LOVING The Discovery of Witches!

    • 😀 I’m really happy you’re loving A Discovery of Witches! That’s a pretty good deal on The Martian. Was it a paperback or ebook?

Leave a Reply

