Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

Into the Woods

Starring:  James Corden, Emily Blunt, Meryl Streep, Anna Kendrick, Chris Pine, Billy Magnussen, Mackenzie Mauzy, and Johnny Depp

Directed by:  Rob Marshall

Synopsis:  Into the Woods is a modern twist on the beloved Brothers Grimm fairy tales in a musical format that follows the classic tales of Cinderella, Little Red Riding Hood, Jack and the Beanstalk, and Rapunzel-all tied together by an original story involving a baker and his wife, their wish to begin a family and their interaction with the witch who has put a curse on them.

My Thoughts:  I love fairy tales and am kind of obsessed with twisted re-tellings.  I’m a huge fan of musicals.  I really don’t care if other people think they’re cheesy.  They’re fun to watch and the music is almost always catchy.  Into the Woods is pretty much the perfect movie for me to go see.  Add to all of that, an all-star cast.  I would’ve been sold with just one of those 3 things, but all 3 together works for me.

Let’s start with the cast and get those elephants out of the room.  I was impressed with the singing.  Usually in an all-star musical there’s at least one person that makes me cringe when they start singing (Russell Crowe in Les Miserables and Pierce Brosnan in Mamma Mia!).  Not a single person made me cringe in Into the Woods, at least not because of their singing.  Johnny Depp’s wolf was creepy though.  His scenes in general gave me the heebie jeebies.  Everyone was fantastic and I think casting James Corden as the baker was a brilliant move.  Having said all of that, Emily Blunt stole the show.  She was phenomenal as the baker’s wife.

The music was catchy (which is pretty normal for a musical).  I thought everyone pulled their weight as far as the singing went.  Agony was my favorite song in the movie, no contest.  Chris Pine and Billy Magnussen were absolutely hilarious and the song in general was just amazing.  I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve re-listened and re-watched it.

The story is its own thing.  It was great and the acting was pretty darn good.  I realize this is probably where a lot of people will point and say parts were cheesy and over the top.  If you feel the need to point that out, then you really deserve an eye roll.  Duh!  It’s a musical.  Haven’t you ever seen a musical?!  Although, now that I really think about it Into the Woods didn’t really have the cheesy musical scenes that are generally commonplace.  The endings for a few of the famous stories were hard to wrap my brain around.  When you grow up with the Disney version, it’s hard to see a story end differently.

Overall, I really enjoyed Into the Woods.  It’s one of those movies that’s fun and entertaining to watch, but then it’ll fester in the back of your mind and make you really think.  I would definitely recommend Into the Woods, unless you absolutely hate musicals (like my Mom).

4 out of 5 Popcorn Buckets = I already pre-ordered the DVD.

Interested in pre-ordering this movie?  DVD or Instant Video

into-the-woods

Leave a Reply

