Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Books I’d Love to Read With My Book Club

toptentuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is a fun weekly link-up in the community where The Broke and the Bookish provides a prompt and other lovers of list making join in on it with their own top ten list. You can have less than 10 or more if you need to at times and put a spin on the topic if you need to! All they ask is that you link back to them if you’re participating.

Sometimes when I read a book I need some sort of system or person that keeps me on track.  Sometimes it’s because I get bored and can’t focus and sometimes it’s just because I get so excited about the book that I feel the need to talk about it incessantly (it tends to annoy my non-reader friends and family members).  That’s why book clubs are amazing.  You’re all reading the same books and discussing them together.  So, here are the. . .

Top 10 Books I’d Love to Read with My Book Club

challenge1-jan27

1.  Positive by Paige Rawl – Based on everything I’ve heard about this book, it seems like it would be the perfect book to read with a group and gush over together.

2.  The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver – This has been on my bookshelf for a while and I think it would probably be a very enjoyable read with a group.

3.  The Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling – I started this one and was almost bored to tears.  I feel terrible saying that about a J.K. Rowling book, but I think maybe discussing it with others might make it a better experience.

challenge2-jan27

4.  The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt – It’s an award winner and pretty long.  I’d definitely read that with or without a book club though.

5.  We Are Not Ourselves by Matthew Thomas – My best friend is in the middle of this book and I feel like maybe we should’ve done a buddy read or something.  If nothing else, I’ll discuss it with her if I feel the need to say anything beyond my review.

6.  Galapagos by Kurt Vonnegut – I tend to enjoy reading classics more when other people are involved.  It’s kind of like having a built-in check system.

challenge3-jan27

7.  Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert – This book has been life-changing for some people and I’m curious now.

8.  The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane by Katherine Howe – I just really want to read this.  I think I’m really going to enjoy it and want to be able to actually talk about it in detail, not worrying about spoilers.

9.  The Stand by Stephen King – It’s pretty long and I’d like to get other opinions while reading it.  It’s a little bit more of a challenge to get everyone to agree to a Stephen King novel.  He’s not for everyone, but I still think it would be a great book club read.

the-truth-about-alice

10.  The Truth About Alice by Jennifer Mathieu – This is a pretty rough read.  I think maybe having others read along and relate this book to real life situation with bullies.

 

Leave a Reply

