Reviews In A Pinch

When You Just Need an honest review in a pinch.

The Best of Me

by Nicholas Sparks

Overview (from Goodreads):  THE BEST OF ME is the heart-rending story of two small-town former high school sweethearts from opposite sides of the tracks. Now middle-aged, they’ve taken wildly divergent paths, but neither has lived the life they imagined . . . and neither can forget the passionate first love that forever altered their world. When they are both called back to their hometown for the funeral of the mentor who once gave them shelter, they will be forced to confront the choices each has made, and ask whether love can truly rewrite the past.

My Thoughts:  First of all, WTF Nicholas Sparks?!  What is wrong with you?  I’m going to go ahead and apologize now for this review because I’m still genuinely pissed off about how this book played out.

Dawson Cole was an amazing character.  Heck, I wanted to date him.  He was a sweetheart that got stuck with an awful family.  I felt bad for him, but that happens.  It really just made me like him more.  Amanda was a different story.  I liked her when they were in high school, but as an adult I wanted to slap her into next week.  If there’s one thing that immediately pisses me off in a book, it’s when a character can’t make an effing decision.  It gets to the point where I don’t even care what they decide to do, just stop going back and forth!  I actually gave myself a headache because I was gritting my teeth so hard for the last 4 chapters.

The plot was okay.  I was pretty much fine with how things were playing out (even if I didn’t agree) until about chapter 20-21.  It wasn’t the most original plot, but that wasn’t what I had a problem with.  I absolutely hated everything that happened after the funeral.  As in, I hated it so much that my heart was pounding and I could feel my body’s physical anger response (which is not something that generally happens with books, TV, or movies).

I’ve read a few Nicholas Sparks books in the past and they were pretty good.  There are realistic parts to all of them (a ring of truth), but there’s always some sort of twist that puts it back into fiction.  What I enjoyed most was that no matter what happened, there’s a happy ending where love is concerned.  I felt completely cheated with The Best of Me (I’m dying trying not to spoil anything).  My Mom and I read The Best of Me together.  She didn’t have the same issues and was quick to point out that there was actually a happy ending, which just made me angrier.

I personally did not like The Best of Me because I took issue with the story itself.  Since I didn’t like it, I wouldn’t recommend it.  If I knew a huge Nicholas Sparks fan, I would probably ask if they’d read The Best of Me, but that’s not a recommendation.

3 out of 5 Bookmarks = I didn’t like it simply because of what actually happened in the book, not because of bad writing or anything of the like.

Interested in buying this book?  Amazon or Barnes & Noble

the-best-of-me-book

Leave a Reply

